Here’s my #poem called Pretender by Wizard of Odd inspired by #ChrisCornell & #Audioslave

Pretender

By Wizard of Odd

 

It’s been nine years

Five months and a day, shatter mirrors

And so many lonely tears left to waste away

And still you remind me like it was yesterday

Of how you have taken your love away

And left my heart vacant and lead me astray

And how my world nowadays is still grey

Since the day that you have taken your love away

And left my heart vacant and lead me astray

As you’ve forsaken my love for another

All because he wears bandanas and leather

And here I thought like birds and feathers

That we would go so well together, I guess not

 

Maybe I was on another bender

Because I must have been loved drunk

When I thought I was a contender

To her heart

As my love I surrendered from the start

But all she did was throw my heart

Into a blender from the start

Because she was always a pretender

 

See I prayed for her to come

And be the one who would stay

And helped me once again see the sun

But I didn’t know she would prey

On my pain for fun just for her games

See darkness has left my world grey

And I thought she would be the one

Taken all of my pain away

But instead she just took her love away

And left my heart vacant and lead me astray

 

Mayday, mayday to my dismay

What more can I say

She didn’t care anyways

That she left my heart forsaken

And lead me astray

 

Maybe I was on another bender

Because I must have been loved drunk

When I thought I was a contender

To her heart

As my love I surrendered from the start

But all she did was throw my heart

Into a blender from the start

Because she was always a pretender

 

See no need to lend her my love

See my love was always true

I would defend her

Only if she knew

My love I rendered

I surrendered to you

 

Mayday, mayday to my dismay

What more can I say

She didn’t care anyways

That she left my heart forsaken

And lead me astray

 

Maybe I was on another bender

Because I must have been loved drunk

When I thought I was a contender

To her heart

As my love I surrendered from the start

But all she did was throw my heart

Into a blender from the start

Because she was always a pretender

Leave a Reply

