My 60th of 2016 #poem Love is a Mask By Songbird inspired by #MichaelJackson\ #MJ @michaeljackson

Love is a Mask

By Songbird

 

Baby when it came to your love

I thought I was worthy

As your love didn’t take much

For you to covert me

But all along you just worked me

Hurt me and desert me

So why did I think

That you deserve me?

 

Because when you were on the phone with him

Or when you were a lone with him

You would lie to me and say I was the one

 

So is it me?

Or is it him?

Who is it to be?

Come on baby

Tell me

 

See baby I didn’t know

That your love

For me was a façade

That you would put my heart

In front of a firing squad

And fill my heart with bullet holes

I just prayed to God to be with you

But again you knew how to play your part

And give me a love so fake from the start

Until the curtains went up

Than you took off your mask-querade

And showed me your true face

 

See love is a mask

That she hides her face behind

As she only wants to control minds

Because love is only a mask that she wears

So she can control your mind from anywhere

 

As she only finds salvation

In her accusations, in her allegations

And only finds love if it comes with

Materialistic validation

As she’s got you fool

If you think she loves you

 

As she is a phoney in disguise

In her makeup wearing lies

False emotions painted on a mask

Lipstick covered up kisses for other guys

 

So is it me?

Or is it him?

Who is it to be?

Come on baby

Tell me

 

See love is a mask

That she hides her face behind

As she only wants to control minds

Because love is only a mask that she wears

So she can control your mind from anywhere

 

As she cries in her room

But that is all a disguise

So she can devise a plan for your doom

As she hides behind a mask of lies

So she can trap you in what is soon to be your doom

But that won’t be something you’ll come to realize

Not until you’re suffering beyond your doom

 

See love is a mask

That she hides her face behind

As she only wants to control minds

Because love is only a mask that she wears

So she can control your mind from anywhere

Leave a Reply

