Here’s my latest called In Your Eyes By Songbird inspired by #BruceSpringsteen\ @springsteen’s Streets of Philadelphia https://youtu.be/4z2DtNW79sQ and #NeilYoung\ @Neilyoung’s Rockin in the Free World https://youtu.be/PdiCJUysIT0

In Your Eyes
By Songbird 
 
Here I lie under a lamppost
Wearing ripped clothes
With my hand out
But in your eyes
You just see another ghost
That you just passed on by
Without a care like most
Emotions in disguise
But in the city’s eyes
I am just another ghost
For the city to come to deny
Sleeping on a bench
Freezing from the rain
That has left me drench
And soaked in my pain
As you’re afraid to approach
Unless you have something to gain
Because in your eyes
You just see another ghost
 
So in your eyes, in your eyes
You just see another ghost
And in my eyes, in my eyes
I see emotions in disguises
 
Liberty is what you say you’re all about
But you deliberately build fences
With the intent to keep us out
As you just see race but not faces
You say you’re all about democracy
But all I see is the land of hypocrisy
That waves a flag of mockery
Because we are just close cases
Ghosts without faces
Trying to find our place
Where we belong
But it seems hatred
In your blood runs strong
Like the desire of being a patriot
 
So in your eyes, in your eyes
You just see another ghost
And in my eyes, in my eyes
I see emotions in disguises
 
In your eyes, in your eyes
You just see another ghost
Coasting on by with no place to go
Wearing the same old clothes
Just begging for change like another lost soul
Because in your eyes, in your eyes
You just see me as another ghost
That you passed on by like most
And in my eyes, in my eyes
All I see is emotions in disguises
Portending to give a damn
But really you don’t give a damn
About your fellow man
As I am just a junkie that’s
Going to die by the needle
Or a drunk man that you don’t
See as your equal
Because in your eyes, in your eyes
You just see another ghost
That you passed on by like most
 
So in your eyes, in your eyes
You just see another ghost
And in my eyes, in my eyes
I see emotions in disguises
Leave a Reply

