The Best of Me By Songbird inspired by #MichaelJackson and #Prince also #RIP @michaeljackson and @prince

The Best of Me

By Songbird

 

I followed all of the rules

That is written by the book

Not looking to duel

 

But this dame is got me hooked

To playing her games

And no matter what I do

 

She’s got me looking like a fool

And here I thought that our love was true

So baby what you did to me was so uncool

 

(Chorus)

See I didn’t think I would let you

Get the best of me

But you did, but you did

Get the best of me

Took my heart, ripped it apart

Just so you can

Get the best of me

And here I loved you from the start

And all you did was look to

Get the best of me

And here I loved you from the start

And all you did was look to

Get the best of me

 

Scheming is what she cooks

No matter if your love is by the books

That is the lesson that I took

For all of the lies

She looked to put on me

And why I’ll never know

Just another reason for her to justify

 

As she was only in it

Because of my position in the game

My prestige and my name

But in the end she was a tease

Here only for a minute

And now she is my disease

Slowly killing me

 

(Chorus Repeat)

 

Yeah this girl of mine

She left my world shook

And had me hooked

Like she was a cocaine line

And took off with my heart

Like she was a crook

And played her part

As if she was up for a role

And stole away my time

Right from the start

But I was like a rook

On a straight line

Going by the book

But she was a queen

And schemes

Is what she cooks

 

(Chorus Repeat)

Leave a Reply

